27 Nov 2014

The ASSG Congratulates the Award Winners for 2014!

The 18th Australian Screen Sound Guild Awards were held on Sunday 23 November at The Establishment Hotel Ballroom in George Street, Sydney.

130 people attended, making it the biggest crowd the ASSG has ever had at the Awards.

Thank you to all the members and friends who attended – it turned out to be a fantastic event. We would especially like to thank those ASSG members who travelled from WA, SA and Victoria.

The Syd Butterworth Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Lloyd Carrick. ASSG president Doron Kippen presented the award to Lloyd, praising his work which has spanned 48 years. Lloyd has worked on such films as Mad Max 2 and 3, Heatwave, The Lighthorsemen and Dead Calm. Lloyd received a standing ovation from the entire room.

The Greg Bell Student Encouragement Award was given to Callum Hedemann, a recent AFTRS graduate.

This year the ASSG honoured the late Andrew Plain by naming the Award for Best Film Sound Design after him. Andrew tragically passed away at the end of last year, not long after the 2013 ASSG Awards were held.

The ASSG Committee would like congratulate all the winners and nominees!

The Greg Bell Student Encouragement Award

Callum Hedemann

The Syd Butterworth Lifetime Achievement Award

Lloyd Carrick

Best Sound for a Television Commercial or Promo – Ubisoft Ghost Protocol Trailer

Stuart Welch, Wes Chew, Ryan Millard, John Simpson M.P.S.E, Ryan Squires

Best Sound for an Animated Short Film – Love in the Time of March Madness

Albert Behar, Marco Velasco, Andy Wright, Adam Alexander

Best Sound for a Short Fiction Film – Can You See Them

Dane Cody, Jo Pajak, Leon East, Andrew McGrath

Best Sound for Lifestyle, Reality or Live Television – Borderland

Neil McIntosh, Liam Price

Best Sound for a Tele Feature- The Killing Fields

Wes Chew, Luke Mynott, Tom Herdman, Sam Gain-Emery, Mick Boraso, Dylan Barfield, Laura Murdoch, John Simpson, James Carroll, Adrian Medhurst, Grant Shepherd, Todd Kirkness, Todd Moore

Best Sound for a Television Drama Series – Anzac Girls (Episode 6, “Courage”)

Tom Heuzenroeder, Des Kenneally, Marco Arlotta, Mike Bakaloff, Nick Steele, Belinda Trimboli, Liam Egan, Peter Smith, Pete Best, Justin Astbury, Cat Connelly, Duncan Campbell, John Simpson, James Carroll, Vanessa Carr, Ryan Squires

Best Sound for a Documentary – The Search for the Ocean’s Super Predator

Ric Curtin, Glenn Martin, Ash Charlton, Steve Towbridge

Best Sound for Interactive Media – Colossatron: Massive World Threat

Cedar Jones

Best Film Sound Recording – Charlie’s Country

James Currie, Josh Williams

The Rover

Des Kenneally, Marco Arlotta, Rob Nokes

The Andrew Plain Award for Best Film Sound Design – Charlie’s Country

Tom Heuzenroeder, James Currie, Adrian Medhurst, James Carroll, Russell Alexander, Diego Ruiz, Duncan Campbell

Best Film Sound Mixing – Wolf Creek 2

Paul Pirola, Pete Smith

Soundtrack of the Year – Wolf Creek 2

Members’ Choice for Best Feature Soundtrack- Wolf Creek 2




Published monthly since 1991, our famous AV industry magazine is free for download or pay for print. Subscribers also receive CX News, our free weekly email with the latest industry news and jobs.